DragonScholar

Green Slime
I got Secrets of Grindea about 2 weeks ago and essentially played through in a week. That's not usual for me - in fact I downloaded it and wanted to "try it for a bit" then found two hours had passed. That's a sign of how good the game is.

I figured it might help to compile my reactions in one categorized list to provide feedback and discussion- because I love how open everyone is to working on the game. Judging by the feedback, there's going to be enough ideas to make three others after this . . .

Anyway,onward. If it seems detailed, well . . . I manage software development for a living.

POSITIVES:
Presentation

• The presentation is excellent, colorful, and well-done.
  • Menus are mostly easy to use.
  • The soundtrack is very appropriate and quite enjoyable.
  • Each area is highly distinct, with good design.
Plot and Character
  • Characters are surprisingly engaging, art style is good overall. I didn't expect to LIKE characters this much.
  • Story advances easily. I like the fact there's not a rushed pace, but a sense of story just the same.
  • There really seems to be a nice, satisfying, complex, and at-times disturbing plot.
Combat
  • Combat works effectively. The ability to switch in and out abilities works pretty well.
  • Combat is usually not too onerous. You can get into a good rhythm.
Enemies
  • Enemies have very character-filled designs and surprising moves.
  • Enemies having different strategies is welcome, such as the shield-generating Guardians.
Skill System
  • The Skill System is surprisingly deep. Originally it had seemed very light, but when I realized how the skills and talents interacted I appreciated the depth.
  • The way skills can improve and be leveled up to have varied effects adds additional depth. I like how there's different kinds of skill "currency," adding another layer of challenge.
Crafting
  • Crafting is fun and straightforward.